Must-Have Monday: Mona’s Essentials

Our beautiful cousin Mona has been busy with new mom duties for the past several months, but we managed to squeeze in a catch up recently. In addition to filling us in on the joys and trials of motherhood, she also shared some of her all-time favorite products with us, while our newest little nephew interjected every now and then with a random shriek (he’s just discovered the sound of his own voice and is exploring it freely and often). Here’s what she can’t live without:

Mac Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation in C40. The most important thing for me is getting the right color match. I’ve tried others, but this is the exact shade for me. It’s also matte, looks flawless, and is pretty effortless. I first use my finger o apply to areas that are slightly darker (around the nose and mouth), then use a brush to apply all over.

Jilbere Nano Ceramic Flat Iron. I love this — I got it as a gift and have become obsessed with it. It’s the best I’ve tried and is great for my thick, naturally wavy hair.

Maybelline The Falsies mascara. I’ve always been a fan of Maybelline mascaras and this one is excellent.

Nars Orgasm blush. I’ve been using this for years to add a wash of peachy gold to make cheeks glow.

I love my eyeliner – Milani Liquif’Eye Metallic Eyeliner Pencil in 01 Black. You can get it at the drugstore. I switched to this when my favorite Almay pencil was discontinued.

Urban Decay Eyeshadow in Chopper is my FAVORITE. I mix it with God knows how many colors. It’s a pinkish-nude that can be worn by itself, but it’s so pretty when mixed with other colors. It has just the right amount of sparkle.

We have had a lifelong fascination with your perfectly tousled wavy layers (minus the unfortunate bowl cut years). Any tips for Chicago girls looking for a great haircut or eyebrows?
Go to Paul from Colin of London on Oak Street – I LOVE him. I’ve gone in there with pictures and – he won’t let you look til he’s done –  every time he turns me around in my chair I’m like,  “Wow!” He never fails. I also go to Hadi for my eyebrows – he’s phenomenal (Amina introduced him to me). It’s actually a fade shop so all these guys come in to get their fades . . . and then there he is doing eyebrows.

Thanks to Mona for sharing her secret weapons. We can’t wait to see you and your little guy next weekend!

Leave a Comment

Blog at WordPress.com.