Reviewed: Eve Lom Cleanser

Reviewed by Maleeha

After seeing skincare guru Eve Lom‘s eponymous line touted in countless magazines as the secret weapon of many a Fashion editrix (Vogue once named it “the #1 cleanser in the world”), I decided to give it a try. It took some getting used to, as I’d never used an oil-based cleanser before, and it involved a rather lengthy process that entailed:

1. Smearing a greasy substance resembling petroleum jelly on my face

2. Running a muslin washcloth (provided) through hot water, wringing, and pressing to my face to steam for 5 seconds, and repeating 2x

3. Running cloth through warm water, wringing, and using it to remove aforementioned greasy substance from my face in gentle, circular motions to exfoliate

4. Repeating step 2 1x with cold water

Sound exhausting? It did to me, until I discovered that it actually made my skin feel fantastic. Call me crazy, but over a year later, I won’t use anything else. Here’s why:

Initially, I had a difficult time warming up to it, and it wasn’t just due to the added minutes in the bathroom. The Space NK sales associate had mentioned that at first, you may break out, but that it’s just the cleanser drawing out all the nasty stuff that lurks beneath the surface. She assured me that after the first month, it would be smooth sailing. I don’t get pimples very often, so I figured I would somehow be exempt from this reaction. I was very wrong. Within the first week, a large, angry zit forced its way onto my countenance. It was different from any zit I’d ever had — much larger, red, and painful, and stayed so long I considered asking it for rent money. When it finally vacated, it left a big mark in its wake. Needless to say, I was dismayed, and even more so when ANOTHER one reared its head a few days later.

Why did I persist? Given the fact that it cost an arm and a leg ($40 for the 50ml, $75 for 100ml, and $125 for the 200ml), I was determined to ride it out, and I’m so glad I did. After that first month, all was forgiven: my skin was the softest and smoothest it had ever been, and seemed much more balanced. I have normal to combination skin and typically only use moisturizer in the winter, but I was able to get through most of the winter without it. I also ditched my makeup remover, since this removes all traces of product and grime. Other than an eye cream and Kate Somerville Exfolikate 2x a week, this is the only skincare product I use.

I had to dock a point due to the zitty initiation period and the lengthy process (which is tough when you’re tired at night, and truth be told, I sometimes skip), but overall it’s made a believer out of me and I highly recommend it. And the fact that I’m just nearing the end of my second jar of the stuff in over a year, which makes me feel better about the exorbitant price.

Have you tried Eve Lom Cleanser? Leave a comment and let us know your thoughts!

Leave a Comment

Blog at WordPress.com.
The Esquire Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

